h1

The Cross that We Must Carry

February 25, 2012

Bro .Eli Soriano is no doubt sensible preacher of this time, and humorous too in citing examples.

I remember when he cited the “cross” written in the Bible ( he first said that word of God is two-double edge sword, it maybe spiritual or material, or both), but the cross mentioned in the scripture that every Christian must carry is not material.

Way back then, I used to wear crucifix, my father bought me 21 carat gold necklace as birthday present.  I see many fellows who wear the same, different sizes and style, wearing crucifix is a fashion, in my opinion.  The same crucifix I used to touched every time I pray to God, thinking I will be heard by Him through that icon. Although I have insight in spiritual meaning of the cross, I understand not so well.

The example gave by Bro. Eli is funny yet true.  Since Lenten season is fast approaching,  he cited those who carry the literal cross and make themselves crucified afterward on the same cross.  Those people who do not understand Lord Jesus Christ sacrifices, ignorantly humiliated the Lord again and again, year by year. He said Lord Jesus crucified  once and for all to be saved who will believe in him. (John 3:16). Because they believe that when they carry the cross, they feel the forgiveness of their sins. Or I may say they do it for traditional or “panata‘ reason.

If the cross we are going to carry is material, I cant’ imagine myself, carrying a cross going to my working place, going to market, going to schools, just to prove that we  follow Christ.  Because that cross is spiritual cross that every Christians must carry until death.  He read these:

John 13:16  Verily, verily, I say unto you, The servant is not greater than his lord; neither he that is sent greater than he that sent him.

John 15:18  If the world hate you, ye know that it hated me before it hated you.

John 15:19  If ye were of the world, the world would love his own: but because ye are not of the world, but I have chosen you out of the world, therefore the world hateth you.

John 15:20  Remember the word that I said unto you, The servant is not greater than his lord. If they have persecuted me, they will also persecute you; if they have kept my saying, they will keep yours also.

And Bro. Eli said, its persecution! The cross means persecution that Lord Jesus Christ encountered when he still in the earth, the same persecution Christians will encounter due to Lord’s name sake.

For more Lord Jesus Christ doctrines, please attend ADD Mass Indoctrination on your nearest locale.

Leave a Reply

